

SISKIYOU LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

806 South Main Street Yreka, California 96097 Phone: (530) 841-2100 Fax: (530) 841-4076

RACHEL JEREB EXECUTIVE OFFICER

VACANT DEPUTY EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Minutes

Siskiyou Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) May 11, 2021

The meeting was called to order by Chair Baird at 2:00 p.m.

Pursuant to California Governor Newsom's Executive Order N-29-20 dated March 17, 2020, the May 11, 2021, Siskiyou County LAFCo meeting was held with the option of appearing via teleconference. The meeting was held in its usual physical location in the Siskiyou County Transit Center conference room, 190 Greenhorn Road, Yreka, California. Commissioners Bryan, DeCausmaker and Baird attended the meeting in person, and Commissioners Valenzuela, Ogren and Harkness appeared by phone. This meeting was open to the public, and the public was also given the opportunity to listen and/or comment via teleconference.

Roll Call:

Present: Commissioners Bryan, DeCausmaker, Valenzuela, Ogren, Harkness

and Baird

Absent: Commissioner Kobseff

Also Present: Rachel Jereb, Executive Officer

Janine Rowe, Clerk to the Commission

Kirk Skierski, Deputy Director, Planning Division

Sherry Lawson, Administrative Services Manager, Community

Development Department

Approval of Minutes: May 12, 2020

Motion: It was moved by Commissioner Harkness, seconded by Commissioner Valenzuela, to approve the Minutes of the May 12, 2020, meeting as presented.

Voted upon and the Chair declared the motion carried unanimously by those Commissioners present upon the following roll call vote:

Michael Kobseff, Alternate

Laurel Harkness, Alternate Memberat-Large Ayes: Commissioners Harkness, Valenzuela and Baird

Noes: None

Abstain: Commissioners Bryan, Ogren and DeCausmaker

Absent: Commissioner Kobseff

Approval of Minutes: April 13, 2021

Motion: It was moved by Commissioner DeCausmaker, seconded by Commissioner Ogren, to approve the Minutes of the April 13, 2021, meeting as presented.

Voted upon and the Chair declared the motion carried unanimously by those Commissioners present upon the following roll call vote:

Ayes: Commissioners DeCausmaker, Ogren, Harkness, and Baird

Noes: None

Abstain: Commissioners Valenzuela and Bryan

Absent: Commissioner Kobseff

Presentations from the Public: None

Conflict of Interest Declaration: None

Consent Items: None

Old Business: None

Changes to Agenda: None

New Business (Public Hearings):

1. Election of Officers:

A. Nomination of Vice Chair: Commissioner Ogren was nominated to be Vice Chair for 2021.

Motion: Following discussion, it was moved by Commissioner Baird, seconded by Commissioner Valenzuela, to nominate Commissioner Ogren for Vice Chair.

Voted upon and the Chair declared the motion carried unanimously of those Commissioners present.

Ayes: Commissioners DeCausmaker, Bryan, Harkness, Valenzuela, Ogren and Baird

Noes: None

Absent: Commissioner Kobseff

Abstain: None

- **2.** Oath of Office for New Commissioners: The Commission Clerk administered the Oath of Office to Commissioner Bryan.
- **3. Vacancy of Member-at-Large Commissioner Position:** The Commissioners directed Staff to repost the Notice of Vacancy for the Member-at-Large position.

Motion: Following discussion, it was moved by Commissioner Bryan, seconded by Commissioner Ogren, to repost the Notice of Vacancy for the Member-at-Large position.

Voted upon and the Chair declared the motion carried unanimously of those Commissioners present.

Ayes: Commissioners Bryan, Valenzuela, Ogren, Harkness and Baird

Noes: None

Absent: Commissioner Kobseff

Abstain: None

4. Agreement for Indemnification

Motion: Following discussion, it was moved by Commissioner Baird, seconded by Commissioner Bryan, to direct Staff to begin utilizing the Agreement for Indemnification for all future projects submitted to Siskiyou County LAFCo.

Voted upon and the Chair declared the motion carried unanimously of those Commissioners present.

Ayes: Commissioners Bryan, Valenzuela, Harkness and Baird

Noes: None

Absent: Commissioner Kobseff

Abstain: Commissioner Ogren

5. Siskiyou County LAFCo Final Budget for Fiscal Year 2021-2022

A. Staff Report:

The previously circulated Staff Report was reviewed by the Commission, and a presentation was provided by Ms. Jereb.

Ms. Jereb informed the Commission that the Final Budget for Fiscal Year 2021-2022 was sent to the County and all nine cities within the County, and no comments were received from any public agencies or members of the public.

Commission Discussion / Questions: None

Public Comment: None

Decision:

Motion: Following discussion, it was moved by Commissioner Valenzuela, seconded by Commissioner Bryan, to approve the Fiscal Year 2021/22 Final Budget.

Voted upon and the Chair declared the motion carried unanimously of those Commissioners present.

Ayes: Commissioners Bryan, Valenzuela, Ogren, Harkness, and Baird

Noes: None

Absent: Commissioner Kobseff

Abstain: None

Items for Discussion / Direction: Ms. Jereb told the Commission she was still working with the contractor that prepared the City MSR/SOI updates to get the final deliverables.

Miscellaneous:

- **1. Future Meetings:** The next regular LAFCo meeting is scheduled on Tuesday, June 9, 2021, at 2:00 p.m.
- 2. Correspondence: None.
- 3. Commission Questions for Staff: None.
- 4. Staff Comments: Ms. Jereb told the Commission that Staff has been getting a lot of phone calls from individuals in South County regarding the City of Mount Shasta annexation and that she wouldn't be surprised if the Commissioners also start getting phone calls about it. Siskiyou LAFCo Staff will not see the project until it gets finalized and approved at the local level, but apparently there is a lot of pushback from what she has heard.
- 5. Commission Comments: None.

Adjournment: There being no further business before the Commission, Chair Baird adjourned the meeting at 2:18 p.m.

By: ______ Signature on File
Janine Rowe, Clerk to the Commission