State of California, County of Siskiyou

Flood Control and Water Conservation District Minutes

April 5, 2022

The Honorable Directors of the Flood Control and Water Conservation District of Siskiyou County, California, met in regular session this 5th day of April 2022; there being present Directors Nancy Ogren, Brandon Criss, Ray A. Haupt, Ed Valenzuela and Michael N. Kobseff, County Administrator Angela Davis, District Counsel Edward J. Kiernan, and County Clerk and ex-Officio Clerk of the Board of Directors Laura Bynum by Deputy County Clerk Wendy Winningham.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Criss.

Public Comment

There were no public comments received.

Consent Agenda – Approved.

It was moved by Director Kobseff, seconded by Director Ogren and carried, following a roll call vote with Directors Haupt, Kobseff, Valenzuela, Ogren and Criss voting YES, that the following consent agenda is approved, and the Chair and/or clerk authorized to execute/record any necessary documents:

Natural Resources - Approve fifth addendum to the Prop 68 contract with Larry Walker Associates.

Flood Control / Natural Resources - Discussion, direction and possible action re appointments to fill various vacant positions on the Butte Valley, Scott Valley and Shasta Valley Groundwater Basin Advisory Committees. Various appointments made.

Natural Resource Policy Specialist Matt Parker provided an overview of the request, advising that there was interest in filling various vacant positions on the Butte Valley and Scott Valley Groundwater Basin Advisory Committees and that no interest in filing one vacancy on the Shasta Valley and one vacancy on the Butte Valley Groundwater Basin Advisory Committees had been received.

In response to Deputy County Clerk Wendy Winningham, Mr. Parker advised that the appointment process for the three Groundwater Basin Advisory Committees was closed, and that there was no need to continue the agenda item to a later date.

It was moved by Director Criss, seconded by Director Kobseff and carried, following a roll call vote with Directors Haupt, Kobseff, Valenzuela, Ogren and Criss voting YES, to appoint Steve Burton as CDFW Butte Valley Wildlife Area representative and Randy Jertberg as Private Pumper representative on the Butte Valley Groundwater Basin Advisory Committee.

It was moved by Director Haupt, seconded by Director Kobseff and carried, following a roll call vote with Directors Haupt, Kobseff, Valenzuela, Ogren and Criss voting YES, to appoint Amanda Cooper as Environmental/Conservation representative; Tom Menne as Private Pumper representative; Theodora Johnson as Member-At-Large representative; Jim Morris as Scott Valley Irrigation District representative; and Charnna Gilmore as Scott Valley City/Municipal representative on the Scott Valley Groundwater Basin Advisory Committee.

Minute Approval - March 15, 2022. Approved.

It was moved by Director Haupt, seconded by Director Ogren and carried, following a roll call vote with Directors Haupt, Kobseff, Valenzuela, Ogren and Criss voting YES, to approve the March 15, 2022 minutes as presented.

Closed Session - Flood District Board - Conference with legal counsel, existing litigation pursuant to Government Code §54956.9(d)(1), one case, commenced at 12:25p.m., concluded at 12:30p.m., with action taken.

District Counsel Edward J. Kiernan announced that closed session concluded at 12:30p.m., with the following reportable action taken:

With regard to item 11A, Conference with legal counsel, existing litigation pursuant to Government Code §54956.9(d)(1), name of case: Nova Kaha'opulani VanCampenhaut, a minor, by and through her GAL, Kekamaluahakulani Ulloa, et al., v. Reynolds Resorts-Lake Siskiyou, et al., Siskiyou County Superior Court Case No. SCCVPO 22-214, the Board authorized defense of that suit. Director Valenzuela made the motion, Director Kobseff seconded it and the vote authorizing defense of the suit was 5/0.

Adjournment - There being no further business to come before the Board of Directors, the meeting was adjourned.

Attest:

Brandon A. Criss, Chair

Laura Bynum, County Clerk

By: ____

Deputy